Call Us: (592) 225 4333 

Composition of the Council

  1. A Chairperson who shall be elected by the Council from among the members of the Council.
  2. The Chief Medical Officer who shall be an ex officio member of the Council;
  3. Six medical practitioners, each with at least five years post registration experience, to be appointed by the Minister after having been elected in accordance with the regulations made for this purpose, from among the medical practitioners resident in Guyana.
  4. Two persons who are not medical practitioners, to be appointed by the Minister  (one of whom is an attorney)

Qualification for Registration

Any person, who applies to the Council to be registered as a medical practitioner and who satisfies the Council that he-

  1. is a citizen of Guyana or the spouse of a citizen of Guyana or is resident in Guyana.
  2. Can communicate satisfactorily in English
  3. Is of good character
  4. Holds a diploma or certificate obtained by examination after attending a medical school approved by the Council
  5. Is qualified to practice independently  in the country where he obtained his Diploma or Certificate

Types of Registration Offered

  1. Full Registration
  2. Institutional Registration
  3. Short Term Registration
  4. Internship Registration

Council Members

Dr. Navindranauth Rambaran: Chair


Dr. Navindranauth Rambaran

Date: September 14, 2016

Age:   42 years

DOB: November 29, 1974

Gender: Male

Language: English

Marital Status: Married


To promote improved surgical care in Guyana and the Caribbean by providing the best possible care for patients within a setting of evidence based practices and continued research.


Certificate in Trauma Surgery- Clinical Fellow, Civic Hospital, University of Ottawa, Canada.  PEAP, CPSO Registration, October 15, 2010

 Diploma in General Surgery, Best graduating Surgeon University of Guyana (UG). November 20th, 2008

 MBBS, Pass with Credit, Graduated Top 2, University of Guyana Medical School (AVICENNA Directory of Medical Schools), October 10, 2003

 Diploma in Medical Technology, Pass with Credit, University of Guyana (UG), November 1996

MEDICAL LICENSING                      

Licensed to Practice Medicine and Surgery, Medical Council of Guyana, March 2005- present

Licensed to Practice Surgery in British West Indies Territories, October 2012

Dr. Mahendra A. Carpen: Member

Dr. Mahendra A. Carpen, MBBS DM FACP FESC

Interventional Cardiologist and Clinical Cardiac Electrophysiologist                           

Current Posts           

Consultant Cardiologist - Caribbean Heart Institute

Consultant Cardiologist, Head of Internal Medicine (Ag) - Georgetown Public Hospital Corporation

Co-Director, Guyana Partnership for Advanced Cardiovascular Care - Georgetown Public Hospital Corporation

Chairman, Cardiac Services Committee - Georgetown Public Hospital Corporation, Ministry of Public Health

Director of Electrophysiology - St. Clair Medical Center, Port-Of-Spain, Trinidad and Tobago

Educational Background

Clinical Cardiac Electrophysiology Fellowship – St. Elizabeth’s Medical Center, Tufts University School of Medicine, Boston USA, July 1st 2011 – October 30th 2012

Interventional Cardiology Fellowship – University of Toronto, July 1st 2010 - June 30th 2011

Cardiology Residency - University of Toronto, July 1st 2008 - June 30th 2010

Internal Medicine Residency - University of the West Indies, Mona, Jamaica Jan 1st 2003 – December 31st 2006 (DM Internal Medicine)

Internship - Georgetown Public Hospital, Guyana July 1st 1998 – June 30th 1999

Medical School - University of Guyana, 1998 (MBBS)

High School - President’s College, Georgetown, Guyana September 1985 – June 1992

Primary School - Cropper Government School, Guyana 1985


Caribbean Heart Institute – Georgetown Guyana Nov 2012 – Present

Georgetown Public Hospital Corporation, Georgetown Guyana Nov 2012 – Present

Woodlands Hospital, Georgetown Guyana June 2013 – Present

Professional Associations

Fellow, European Society of Cardiology

Fellow, American College of Physicians

Member, Heart Rhythm Society

Member, American College of Cardiology

Member, Canadian Cardiovascular Society

Caribbean Association of Medical Councils

Member, Caribbean Cardiac Society

Medical License History

Medical Council of Guyana (Current)

Medical Board of Trinidad and Tobago (Current)

Massachusetts Board of Registration in Medicine (2011-2013)

College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario, Canada (2008-2011)

Bahamas Medical Council (2005-2008)

Jamaica Medical Council (2002-2008)


Cardiac Pacing and Electrophysiology Fellowship – St. Elizabeth’s Medical Center, Tufts University School of Medicine, Boston USA, June 2012     

Interventional Cardiology Fellowship, Toronto General Hospital, University of Toronto Canada June 2011

Adult Cardiology Fellowship, University Health Network, University of Toronto Canada June 2010

Educational Commission for Foreign Medical Graduates (ECFMG) U.S.A. Nov. 7th 2007

DM Internal Medicine, University of the West Indies, Jamaica Dec 2006

Caribbean Association of Medical Council, Jamaica 2002

Bachelor of Medicine, Bachelor of Surgery University of Guyana 1998

Scholarship/Academic Awards 

Rolph Richards Prize in Clinical Medicine - University of Guyana 1998 Best graduating student in Internal Medicine                                               

Prime Minister’s Award - University of Guyana 1998 Best graduating student, School of Medicine

Vice Chancellor’s Award - University of Guyana 1998 Best graduating student Faculty of Medical Sciences

Public Service Ministry Scholar - Guyana 1992     

Dr. Shamdeo Persaud: Chief Medical Officer/Ex-Officio


Dr. Shamdeo Persaud

Position on Council:

Chief Medical Officer/Ex-Officio



Dr. Chris Prashad: Member

Coming Soon

Mr. James Bond: Member

Coming Soon

Mr. John Adams: Member

Coming Soon

Dr. Marisa Seeperaud : Member

Coming Soon

Officer Present


Ms. Juanita Johnson - Secretary


Address, Telephone and email contact

Dr. Navindranauth Rambaran, Mbbs - Chair

130 Carmichael Street, South Cummingsburg, Georgetown.

Office Tele # : +592 225 4333

Secretary Tele # : +592 226 8158


beton barbekü